Home » Projects » Range Of Night Vision Sights

Night Vision Sights Design (NVRS)

CustomerIndustrial design of night vision sight.

Yukon Optics

Development end – 2001

Objective

The objective was to develop a sight to be recognized by its appearance against competitors’ devices. The internal package and technical characteristics can be compared with analog devices. The device is positioned in the low price category.

The sight must slightly resemble military equipment for having a corresponding image on the planned product markets (USA and Europe).

Our solution

By having studied the competitive items represented in the market, we found out that all of them were made using the milling method from metal massif. As a consequence, the appearance of those products resembles a composition of geometric primitive elements. The applied technology on the one hand puts restrictions on shaping, and on the other hand is negatively reflected on product cost.

The device construction was made by using plastic elements together with tubular parts, the usage of which significantly decreased the device’s cost. The application of plastic, over and above the technological gain, also easily allowed the product’s shape to be changed.

To visually complicate the device shape, we added a cone-shaped form to the objective ‘tube’, which was not typical to competitors. The design of the control unit is explained mostly by ergonomics. For example, the switch was made massive to allow working in thick gloves in the cold, while the usage of the device in the dark explains the necessity to control neutral positions of switches by touch. The protective cover was made spring-mounted to provide possibility of fast shifting of the device into working position.

Industrial design of night vision sight. Side view.

 

Because of this device, similar devices started appearing in the market.

Benefits

    • ‘Fresh’ device appearance in the competitors range;
    • Low production cost by means of optimizing production technology;
    • Sophisticated ergonomics;
    • Long life in the market due to the compromise found between price and quality;
    • Incorporating features from competing products.

Team

Oleg Dolnikoff – project management, design

Development tools

Kompas, Solid Works

The goal of industrial design is to create ergonomic and intrinsically attractive products | info@dolnikoff.com

Главная » Изделия » Линейка прицелов ночного видения

Дизайн прицелов ночного видения NVRS

Заказчик Промышленный дизайн прицела ночного видения.

Yukon Optics.

Дата окончания разработки – 2001 год.

Задача

Разработать прицел, выделяющийся своим внешним видом на фоне изделий конкурентов. Внутренняя комплектация и технические характеристики сопоставимы с основной массой аналогичных приборов. Прибор позиционируется в низкую ценовую категорию.

Прицел должен слегка напоминать военную технику, для придания соответствующего имиджа на планируемых рынках сбыта (США и Европа).

Наше решение

Исследовав представленные на рынке конкурирующие изделия, было найдено, что все они как правило изготовлены методом фрезерования из массива металла. Как следствие, внешний вид этих изделий напоминал композицию из геометрических примитивов. Используемая технология с одной стороны создает ограничение для формообразования, а в другой негативно отражается на себестоимости изготовления.

Конструкция изделия была основана на использовании пластиковых элементов в комплексе с трубчатыми деталями, применение которых значительно уменьшило себестоимость прибора. Применение пластмассы, кроме технологического выигрыша, позволило легко оперировать формой изделия.

Для того, чтобы визуально усложнить форму прибора, "трубе" объектива была придана конусообразная форма, не характерная для конкурентов. Дизайн блока управления обусловлен по большей части эргономикой. Например, переключатель сделан массивным для возможности работы в толстых перчатках на морозе, а использование прибора в темноте диктует необходимость контроля нейтральных положений переключателей на ощупь. Защитная крышка подпружинена для возможности быстрого перевода прибора в рабочее положение.

Промышленный дизайн прицела ночного видения. Вид сбоку.

Благодаря этому прибору на рынке начали появляться похожие изделия.

Преимущества

  • "Свежий" облик прибора в ряду конкурентов
  • Низкая цена изготовления за счет оптимизации технологии производства
  • Продуманная эргономика
  • Долгая жизнь на рынке, благодаря найденному компромиссу цена-качество
  • Появление заимствований у конкурирующих изделий

Команда

Дольников Олег – руководство проектом, дизайн

Средства разработки

Компас, Solid Works.

Задача промышленного дизайна состоит в создании эргономичных и внешне привлекательных изделий | info@dolnikoff.com